28 Pounds

As of this morning, that’s all that stands between me and my goal weight of 155. 28 pounds. 28 pounds shouldn’t be all that difficult to lose, right? After all, I’ve already lost 78 pounds! It’s not like I don’t know how weight loss works. I have all the tools I need.

And yet I can’t help but feel as though those 28 pounds are like 100 pounds. It seems daunting, and I can’t figure out why.  Oh wait, yes I can: discipline (or lack thereof). My attempts to lose weight since having Charlotte have been of the stop-and-start variety. I haven’t had long stretches of commitment bonded with action, and it shows. From June 1 2011 until January 1, 2012, I lost 12.2 pounds. That’s kind of ridiculous. Sure, it’s 12 pounds that needed to be lost, and I’m so glad I lost them, but a 12 pound loss over 7 months isn’t impressive. At that rate, it will take me approximately 16 months to lose these last 28 pounds. There’s no way that’s happening.

So what now?

If I’m going to reach my goal weight this year, I have to take action. I have to be committed. So for the month of January, here’s how I’m going to work on losing the weight:

1. Track all of my food. I got unbelievably lazy with this and haven’t consistently tracked my food since the summer. I told myself I didn’t really need to track, that I know what I eat and how many calories it all has. Lies! If I am not tracking, I let a lot of things slide. An extra cookie here, a regular Coke there, an extra serving at dinner, and before I know it I’ve eaten WAY more than SparkPeople’s recommended range for me. So back to logging I go. It’s tedious, but it works. I am more prone to think twice about eating something if I have to account for it.

2. Exercise at least 4 days a week. Since I’m planning to run a half marathon this year, this MUST happen. I need to work on building my running base this month anyway, so it won’t be hard to figure out what exercise I need to do.

3. Wake up between 5:00 and 5:30 during the work week. If I am going to exercise and read my Bible, I need to wake up earlier. Which leads me to…

4. Go to bed no later than 10:00 p.m. Ideally I’d like to get to bed at 9:00, but I’m going to start with 10:00 and then work my way back to 9:00.

5. Complete the Hello Mornings Challenge. (This challenge is hosted by one of my favorite blogs for moms, Inspired to Action, so check out the challenge and Kat’s blog. You will be blessed and encouraged!) I’m super excited about this and hope that it will help me achieve all of these goals.

Watch out, 28 pounds! I’m coming for you!

9 thoughts on “28 Pounds

  1. 28 pounds, you can do it! It's going to feel so good once you get there! I think tracking food is the KEY. All those little things here and there really do add up.

    Like

  2. Tracking is key! I thought I was “on target” for my calories, and then I tracked last Monday. Let's just say it's no wonder I'm working out like mad and not losing. 🙂 (I went a full 600 OVER!)

    I also need to start getting up earlier. Let me know if you have any tricks.

    Like

  3. I started tracking last summer, and I was eating way too many calories without even a thought. I also had to make the decision to get up earlier and go to bed earlier. My goal is 8:30 (I get up at 4:30 to run/read) and most days I'm pushing 9 or 9:30. You can do this! It just take habitual lifestyle changes.

    Like

  4. You can SO do this, Erin!!!

    Something my dietician helped me with: Are you eating enough protein? I tracked my food for 2 weeks before seeing her and although I was within my calorie range, I was eating 3x the carbs but less than half the protein I needed. I cut my carbs to less than 150 grams per day and at least 85 grams of protein per day. It drastically affected my plateau. 🙂
    You've got tons of support–I look forward to a post in the future telling us you've lost those 28!!

    Like

  5. Sounds like great goals! You can definitely take off those last 28 pounds this year – that's about a half a pound a week! And don't be too hard on yourself about the “only” 12 lb loss. I actually gained about that much during the same time period, so it could be worse! It at least shows that you were headed in the right direction and weren't just giving up and allowing yourself to gain. You're doing great!

    Like

  6. Hi Erin. I found your blog because I searched the term 28 pounds and your site came up. My wife and I, both over 60, decided to try a plant-based diet last september. So far I have lost 28 pounds by only eating fruit, vegetables, legumes and whole grains. The positive changes in my body, besides the weight loss, have been dramatic. Lesions on my skin are disappearing, my nasal allergies have ceased, and I sleep all night. My blood pressure is down to normal (I was on two kinds of BP meds) and there is no cholesterol in our new diet. My wife's blog, anitashealthylife.com, has some great videos about this plant-based way of eating which are well worth watching. At any rate, best of luck with your last 28 pounds. I'm sure you'll get there.

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

