January 2012: Week 1 Report

I would say that the first week of 2012 was a good one. Shall I count the ways?

1.  I exercised 4 times, for a total of 128 minutes.

2.  I logged my food 4 of 7 days. Yes, that’s not really a great number, but it’s better than the big fat ZERO days I was logging previously.

3.  I stayed in my calorie range for each day that I tracked my calories. Coincidence? I think not.

4.  I woke up in the 5:00 hour every morning during the work week, except for Thursday morning.

5.  And oh yeah, I lost THREE pounds!

Weight on Jan. 1:  184.2
Weight on Jan. 8:  181.2 (This weight makes 80 pounds lost from my highest weight of 261.)
Pounds left to lose:  26


If you remember, I took some before pics back in June, when I first started actively trying to lose weight after I had Charlotte (although I’m not sure it can be considered an “active” attempt at weight loss since it’s been so slow, but anyway…). Here’s one to refresh your memory:

Since I’ve lost 15 pounds since that picture was taken, I decided to take an updated one Sunday.

I’ll be honest and say that I was disappointed when I saw the more recent picture. It doesn’t look very different to me. I still have a good deal of weight to lose, and I know that more than losing weight I also need to gain muscle, as I am REALLY flabby all over. I think if I can develop a consistent strength training routine, that will help tremendously. I much prefer cardio because I feel like I’ve actually DONE something when it’s over.  I know that strength training is often much more beneficial, so I’m going to try and do it two times a week for the rest of the month. I will probably do 30 Day Shred since it’s relatively quick and also makes me want to die.  I have a lot of work ahead of me, but I’ve also come a long way! Here are pictures of me from December 2007, right before I decided it was time to lose weight. I was probably around 260 pounds.

One day at a time, one pound at a time, I will get there.

8 thoughts on “January 2012: Week 1 Report

  1. I can really tell a difference! You're doing great! I have been doing the Spark January Jump Start challenge–they have approx 10 minute long strength training videos for each day of the week–it has been a huge help to me & you may want to check that out for inspiration & accountability to start strength training!

    as always, you inspire me!

    Like

  2. I have the hardest time seeing a difference in my before and after pictures (don't have many)…but I can see a difference in yours – just to let you know!! You have made such great strides and look at that, look at you!! And don't worry about the slow pace, you are doing it, that is what matters the most!!!You should be proud of that!! Keep up the good work!!

    MO-tivated

    Like

  3. I can tell a difference for sure! Often, we can't see it like other people can. You're doing a great job! I love how you're celebrating the little accomplishments as you go. Can't wait to read more. 🙂

    Like

  4. I can tell a big difference for sure! You look awesome Erin! And I am so, so impressed with the goals you've met. I could not do the things you have on your list. PLEASE pat yourself on the back for getting up so early, tracking your food, etc. You are doing awesome!!!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

