There’s No Turning Back

I can’t undo it. I’m committed.

What am I talking about, you ask? Well, I mailed in the registration for my first half marathon! I am running the Andrew Jackson Half Marathon on March 31! (Let’s not talk about how that’s NEXT MONTH, shall we?) When I was first looking for a race to register for, I dismissed this one almost automatically because it is so soon. However, the only other race that is going to be held in the near future and a feasible distance from me is the Country Music Half Marathon in Nashville. I seriously considered this one, until I realized that 1) The registration fee is over $100, 2) there are THOUSANDS of people who run in the race, and 3) we’d have to pay not only for the registration but also for a hotel near the start, and there was no way I was going to shell out $300-$400 total to torture myself run a half marathon! So the Nashville half was out, and the Jackson half was back on the table. Sure, I could wait until later in the year to run in a different race (there are several in the fall), but I feel like I have good momentum right now and am ready to conquer this baby!

March 31, here I come! All of you are invited to come cheer me on. I’ll be the one bringing up the rear. 🙂

3 thoughts on “There’s No Turning Back

  1. You rock Erin. You can do it! Keep your eyes on the goal of completing a half marathon… and try to enjoy it as much as you can. 1/2 marathons are now my favorite distance. Long enough for good calorie burn, etc., but short enough that the training doesn't stress you out or kill you. Can't wait till I can run again after this baby comes.

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

