The Difference an Hour Makes

I don’t know about you guys, but Daylight Saving Time has me all messed up! I had a hard time going to sleep last night (Stephen and I both did), and then I ended up sleeping through my alarm this morning. I’ve been super-sleepy all day long and have yawned approximately 1,182 times. It’s pretty ridiculous! I hope to go to bed a little after 9 tonight and be up at 5:30 tomorrow morning.

 It’s been about two months since I committed to waking up earlier during the week, and while I wish I could say I happily jump out of bed when my alarm goes off at 5:20 every morning, this is not the case. Truthfully, the amount of times that I actually got up right after the alarm went off are few (I tend to get up around 5:35 or 5:40). However, I definitely am getting up and exercising and reading my Bible in the mornings with far more regularity than I used to, and that is a huge deal for me. I love starting the day by exercising my soul and body, and I truly do feel like it makes all the difference in how my day goes. Today, for example, I have felt rushed and sleepy and out of sorts, and I know it’s because I overslept and didn’t have time to properly get ready this morning. I didn’t exercise or spend time in God’s Word, and I was actually feeling rather grumpy when I got to work this morning.

While I’m not 100% successful at waking up when my alarm goes off, I do get up more than I sleep in, and for that I’m grateful. I love waking up while the house is still quiet and asleep, and even though I don’t think I’ll ever truly be a morning person, I have certainly come to see the value of waking up early.

 If you wake up early to get things done (whether it’s exercising or reading or writing), what tips do you have for getting up?

2 thoughts on “The Difference an Hour Makes

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

