What Next?

It is has been my experience that without a specific fitness-related goal, I flounder. Hence the reason I haven’t really worked out at all since my half marathon until this morning (and even then I only ran 2 miles). Having the half marathon to train for gave me motivation and focus and helped get me out of bed on days when I would have preferred to sleep a little later. Now that the race is over, I am left trying to figure out what my next goal should be. Obviously, I have a goal to get to my goal weight, but I need some sort of fitness goal to accompany that so I stay on track. I have a few things in mind but would love my readers’ input as well. Here is what I’ve come up with:

1.  Sign up for another race. I could do the West TN Strawberry Festival 10k on May 12. I wouldn’t have to do much training for this, just keep up a consistent running schedule until then. I’m defnitely not going to run any long distance races over the summer because I’m a wuss when it comes to heat, so a 10k is the farthest I’d be comfortable running at this point.

2.  Complete 30 days of 30 Day Shred. I’ve done the workout itself many times, but I have never tried to do it every day for 30 consecutive days, mainly because I’ve always thought that you shouldn’t work the same muscles two days in a row. Am I completely wrong on this? I have never managed to get past level 1 on the DVD, so I think a focused, concentrated approach like aiming for 30 days straight would be really challenging. My main concern is injuring myself because of overuse. I suppose I could always do the Shred every other day for 60 days, too.

3.  Find a weight lifting plan and stick with it for 30 days. I have little to no motivation to strength train, but my body desperately needs it (hello, flabby stomach and thighs and arms!). If I could find a good plan to follow, that might help. I have a 2-month YMCA membership that I need to use before it expires in June, so perhaps I should see if I can find any workouts that incorporate gym equipment that I otherwise wouldn’t have access to.

That’s all I’ve got. I’d love to hear any suggestions from you all about what my next fitness goal should be! If you know of any great, inexpensive workouts, please share!

4 thoughts on “What Next?

  1. I have a friend that did “30 Day Shred” recently and she lost about 15 pounds that month. I have really been wanting to get that DVD. I have no idea about what is best, though, as far as exercising certain muscles go, so that's something to consider. I just know that it seems like it really does work. She also coupled the DVD with dieting, so that might've helped a lot, too. I can't diet right now, but I CAN exercise, so I have no excuse as far as that goes. I can't believe that while I was pregnant, I thought I'd be so ready to exercise once Milo was born that I'd be doing crunches in my hospital bed…um, I was delusional.

    Like

  2. I think it's true that you aren't supposed to exercise the same muscle groups every day.I've been doing 30-day Shred for about six weeks, 1-3 times a week (usually twice), and I just moved up to level 2 (although I have to do one of the arm exercises with bean cans :D). I think doing that workout every other day for 60 days would be a great goal!

    When I first started it in early March, I was so sore I had to take two days off! But I love it, and I'd like to find another, similar video to alternate with.

    Like

  3. Hi Erin. My biggest suggestion–and one I need to listen to myself!–is to find a running partner. I am going to search for one after I have this baby. I've done this in the past and I find I'm much less likely to skip a workout if I'm running with someone else. PLUS, I've also had some AWESOME running partners in the past, and it's been like “therapy.” I wish we lived closer so we could run together! You might even change your mind about longer runs in the summer heat if you have a partner (and start at 6:30 or 7:00). I trained all through the summer for my marathon with a GROUP! Do you have someone from church that likes to run… or a running club, or a Jeff Galloway group close by?

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

