I’m Not Stopping Just Before the Finish Line

I checked my blog archives, and it’s been roughly two months since I decided to take a break from blogging about weight loss. I was kind of surprised because it felt like longer to me, although I’m not sure why. I can’t say I’ve actually missed writing about weight loss, but I have felt a little bit that not writing about it has caused me to become rather lackadaisical in my approach to weight loss. Basically, I’m not losing any weight. Well, let me correct that. I’ve lost about 4 pounds, but 4 pounds in 2 months? That’s hardly a weight loss success story.

Admittedly, I was primarily focused on training for my half marathon during those 2 months, and as my runs increased in distance, so did my hunger. I don’t think I went nuts with my eating, but I let more things slide than I should have because hey, I had just burned 1,000 calories running! What’s a little pizza compared to that? However, I am no longer training for a half marathon, nor am I running. In fact, I’ve run a total of THREE TIMES since my race on March 31. I’ve only exercised five times this whole month. That’s pathetic.

In summary, I’ve lost very little weight and done very little exercise.

So what’s going on here? Laziness. Lack of discipline. Apathy.

All of that stops. NOW.

I weighed 174.4 this morning. That means that I only have 19 pounds to lose to get to my goal of 155. Nineteen pounds is NOTHING. I am so close! There is no reason I can’t be at my goal weight by the end of July. To do that, I need to lose a little over 6 pounds a month. 6 pounds is not a lot. It’s a very doable goal, and I’m going to reach it.

No more excuses. Only results!

P.S. This is my 1000th post! Woohoo!

7 thoughts on “I’m Not Stopping Just Before the Finish Line

  1. 1000th post! AMAZING!!!

    Also, I really, really, really want to encourage you to be kinder to yourself. I don't know if you can go back and read your words, but you are so harsh with yourself! I don't know if that's motivating… but I do know that God would treat you gently and lovingly and want you to do the same with yourself. I think moderate behavior equates to good goal setting/making. If you think, “Well, I lost 4 pounds. That is something!” Instead of “4 pounds in 2 months is pathetic” I think it might help your perspective. I think this applies to all behavior modification–not just weight loss.

    I think 4 pounds is GREAT Erin! If you just kept that up, you'd be at your goal weight by the end of the year! That is not shabby! And so what if it takes that long? The point is you are moving in the right direction!

    I know personally that I always took some time off from exercise after I finished a big goal like a half marathon. The current me hopes NOT to do that… but I think the only way I will be able to get around that is to schedule races periodically to give me a goal. (Can't WAIT till I can run again!) It IS HARD to control what you eat when you are running that much b/c your hunger IS so much more. I have not figured out how to get around that. I've never been able to lose weight when I'm training… But maybe we'll learn something together.

    You are doing something right Erin. You finished a half marathon AND you've lost 4 pounds AND you've blogged 1000 times! GO ERIN GO!

    Like

  2. Andrea, thank you for your thoughtful reply. I honestly hadn't thought about whether my words were harsh, but looking back on them, they are. I wouldn't say to a friend what I say about myself a lot of the time, so I'm glad you pointed it out so I can be more aware.

    Thanks for your encouragement and support. I am excited for you to get back into running after baby #2 makes his appearance! πŸ™‚

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

