Get Moving: A 30 Day Challenge

I’ve decided I need a challenge to get me revved up for weight loss, and I came up with one I’ve wanted to try before but never really followed through on (how many times has THAT happened, I wonder?). I’m launching a 30 day challenge, to begin on Tuesday, May 1. During those 30 days, I am going to exercise every single day. The only rule is that I have to exercise for at least 10 minutes each day. I can certainly do more than 10 minutes, but not less. And here’s the real kicker: if I miss a day, I have to start the whole challenge over again. So if I’m on day 8 and decide to be lazy and not exercise, the next day becomes day 1. That’s all there is to it!

I’m really excited about this challenge. I know it will be difficult to get in some form of exercise every day, but I know I can make time for at least 10 minutes a day. Just think: if I only do the minimum for the whole challenge, I will still have exercised for 300 minutes! That’s not too shabby.

I’m hopeful this will help me realize that fitting in exercise is not so hard and is definitely worth the investment. There have been times in the past where I’ve slept in and not had time for a longer workout, and so I wouldn’t do one at all because it seemed silly to only do 10 or 15 minutes. I’m no math genius (I did major in English for a reason), but the last time I checked, 10 and 15 are still greater than zero! Every little bit of exercise helps, and for every minute I’m exercising, that’s one minute I’m not sitting around being a lazy bum!

On Tuesday I will post my starting weight along with a picture and will also take measurements so I can track any inches that I might lose during the challenge. I will post updates at least once a week on how the challenge is going.

Now, here’s a question for you: who wants to join me?  I’d love to have others join in on the challenge so we can support each other. If there’s enough interest, I’ll even form a group on Facebook where we can all check in with our progress and encourage one another. You don’t even have to focus on exercise for your 30 day challenge. Maybe you want to challenge yourself to write every day or spend time in God’s Word every day or drink 8 glasses of water a day. The choice is up to you! If you’re interested, leave a comment on this post!

There are only a few days until May 1. Let’s get moving!

15 thoughts on “Get Moving: A 30 Day Challenge

  1. sign me up =) i haven't decided what my challenge will be though. possibly the exercise everyday, we'll see. i like that you have to start over if you miss a day!

    Like

  2. I'll join you! I've been telling myself this is the summer I get in shape, but I haven't set any goals or made any plans (this is a perennial problem with me…) so maybe a little accountability will help!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

