Five Minute Friday: It’s Not About the Doughnut

This week’s prompt for Five Minute Friday is “Identity.” Here goes…

I have wanted to stuff my face with food all day. I woke up thinking of doughnuts. I worked until lunch thinking of doughnuts, until my thoughts then switched to french fries. It would have been easy for me to get in my car and drive to McDonald’s and order a burger and fries. But I didn’t. Instead I sit here, writing about it.

I cannot shake my love of food. I dream about food sometimes, always look forward to my next meal, always wish I could have just a little more of a food that tastes really good. I eat with abandon much of the time, and sometimes even I am astonished at how quickly the food disappears.

I want to be healthy, but how can I when all of my thoughts–and sometimes my actions–are anything but? How can I be healthy when I am just a few binges away from a 10 pound weight gain? It takes so much work to lose 5 pounds, and yet I can regain those pounds in a day if I am not careful. And I am sure I don’t LOOK healthy–173 pounds is not exactly trim, and cellulite doesn’t lie.

I tell myself that it doesn’t matter how much I weigh and that what is important is what’s on the inside, and of course this is true. I know that God loves me and created me and that He DELIGHTS in me, and yet here I sit, thinking not of Him, but of food. I have allowed food the power in my life, have given it permission to hijack my thoughts and hold my waistline hostage, when the Father stands before me, arms open wide, inviting me in as His daughter, His beloved.

The one truth I keep coming back to is this: food will not love me back. And to this I add: I won’t find my identity in a doughnut.

5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: It’s Not About the Doughnut

  1. I share your love of food. I enjoy the different flavors and types of food and this often causes me issues too. It breaks my budget, the seat of my favorite jeans, my no longer cellulite free things.

    No, the donuts don't love us back do they.
    Hugs girl!

    Like

  2. For me it isn't food – it is my hearts desire. When my heart is set on something I seem to loose focus on EVERYTHING else. It is a mental (and sometimes physical) struggle to reorient my mind back to where God has me now and what he would have me to do now.

    We must remember, as you said, “this food (or this dream for me) will not love me back,” but God will!

    Thank you for that!

    Like

  3. I love this post – it is exactly where I am, too. If only food didn't taste so good, you know. It's hard to remember that His grace is so much sweeter than any dessert, but I love the truth you ended with. Food will not ever love us back – but it will make more of us to love 😉 (not that that helps)

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

