Five Minute Friday: Freeze Frame

I’m linking up with Gypsy Mama for Five Minute Friday. This week’s prompt: opportunity. Join the fun!

“She went down fine, no protests,” I tell Stephen. But minutes later, cries break through the quiet. Not so fine after all. After waiting a few minutes to see if the cries subside, I finally decide to go and check on her—just this once—to see if she is okay. I could leave her alone, and some nights I do, but tonight I cannot resist her calls. I enter the darkened room and find her sitting up, looking forlorn, cheeks wet with tears, chest heaving with little sobs. Her arms rise instantly at the sight of me, and how can I resist such an invitation? I sweep her up, head to shoulder, heart to heart, rubbing her back and humming softly.

“Shhh, shh,” I whisper, touching the silky softness of her hair. “Mommy loves you. It’s okay.”

More than okay.  For here, in this moment, mother and daughter, I feel my purpose. Love wells up within me, spills out like so much water from a gushing stream.  Here, in this moment, I want to freeze time, savor the feel of small fingers touching mine, tiny legs wrapped tightly around me. 

I want to remember her always like this, arms stretched up, eyes on me alone.

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Freeze Frame

  1. Beautiful. We did the same with Mark last night. Sometimes I can let it go… but last night he needed us. And it only took about 10 minutes to get him back down… Glad we did too, b/c this morning he woke up with a fever.

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

