Five Minute Friday: Out of Focus

I’m linking up with Lisa-Jo’s Five Minute Friday, and I couldn’t have picked a better word to lead me to some important realizations. This week’s word: focus.

* * * * *

I am terribly nearsighted. Yesterday I had my yearly eye exam and had to wait a few minutes, without my contacts in, in the exam room before the doctor came to examine my eyes. The letters on the wall were a complete blur, but when I held my phone up, everything was in perfect focus. If I hadn’t seen the fuzzy letters on the wall, I wouldn’t even know by looking at my phone that anything was wrong. As far as I could tell close up, my vision was perfect. 
But like so many things in life, my vision is far from perfect. The same goes for my focus. After my post on Tuesday, I’ve done a lot of thinking, and I think the realization I’ve come to is that I’m incredibly self-absorbed. It’s no surprise that I am tired of thinking about weight loss and food because both of those things? They’re all about me.
If you look in the Bible, you won’t find any verses that talk about spending all of your time thinking about yourself. You won’t find any that exhort the reader to spend countless hours devoted to personal neuroses. What you will find are verses that urge followers of Christ (of which I am one, though ever so poor an example) to be joyful always, to pray continually, to give thanks in all circumstances, to think of others as higher than themselves, to seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, to love their neighbors as themselves. I look in God’s love letter to me and am reminded to count everything as loss except the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. When I think on these things, when I live a life that radiates these truths, what room is left over for thoughts of me? None whatsoever. And that is just how it should be.
What I am coming to realize is that my view of Christ has become blurry because my view of myself remains in constant focus.
Turns out I am nearsighted in more ways than one.

* * * * *

 
I invite you to join in the challenge of writing for just five minutes this Friday. Who knows what will come of it?

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Out of Focus

  1. That is food for thought. “What I am coming to realize is that my view of Christ has become blurry because my view of myself remains in constant focus.”
    Congratulations on the weight loss, your daughter, and the realization that you need more focus on Him.
    I too after struggling with fertility issues, had 2 boys before loosing weight and getting healthier (25 pounds). Before having our third boy and now can claim to having kept it off for over 3 years.
    Sorry, I'm not helping with the focusing on Him. He is wonderful to focus on. I appreciate bsfinternational.org to help me get/keep my focus on Him. Their Bible study is world wide and has really helped me with my focus.

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

