Weigh-in Wednesday: A New Direction

I didn’t intend to go over a week without blogging, but looks like I did! I’m back and have some exciting news. Well, exciting for me, that is. Most of you probably couldn’t care less, but I’m sharing it anyway. 🙂

Last Tuesday, I signed up for Weight Watchers Online. It’s something I’d been thinking about for a while, and with the encouragement of my husband and some great feedback I got about the program, I decided to take the plunge. I vacillated between going to meetings or doing the program online, but since it’s a lot more expensive to go to meetings, I decided to try the online program for 3 months and then reassess after that.

I officially started the program last Wednesday, and it was a tough week. Counting points instead of calories has required a huge mental shift for me. I generally know the calorie amounts for most foods that I eat, but I had no idea how many points those same foods are, so Weight Watchers has required me to plan ahead and do research about what foods are the best to eat and what are to avoid.  A really neat thing about the plan is that most fruits and veggies don’t have any points, which encourages me to eat those things more since they don’t count toward my daily points allotment (which is 28, for those who are curious).

So, how did I fare on the scale my first week?

Last week’s weight: 175.8
This week’s weight: 172.6
Total lost: 3.2 lbs
I’m very happy with that number! I have had some MONTHS where I haven’t even lost 3 pounds, so to lose that in one week is exciting for me and gives me hope for the weeks ahead. I know it’s common to lose more in the first few weeks of the program, but I have shown myself that I am capable of following the program. I know not every week will be like this one, but I know that if I keep trying, I will keep seeing results. 
Are any of you on Weight Watchers, or have you tried it in the past? I’d love to hear from you!
8 thoughts on “Weigh-in Wednesday: A New Direction

  1. I have been doing WW for 10 weeks. I've lost 10 lbs, which isn't as much as I would have liked to at this point, it is working. I haven't lost any weight in the past two weeks, but I have gotten lax about measuring things. Thanks for the reminder that it works if I just stick to it.

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

