Weigh-In Wednesday: Keeping It Real

Whose idea was it for me to post my weight every week? I mean really, that person is crazy.

Oh wait, that was me, wasn’t it? Rats.

Anyway, I really didn’t want to post this today, and I could have chosen not to, but I strive to be honest on this blog, and it would be dishonest of me to pretend that this week didn’t happen, so here you go.

Last week’s weight: 170.6
This week’s weight: 170.8
GAIN of .2 pounds
Basically, I’m in the same place I was 2 weeks ago. I’m kind of frustrated by it, but in reflecting over the past week, I don’t think I really earned a loss. I ate fast food on four different occasions, and while I logged 2 hours of exercise, I guess it wasn’t enough. You really can’t out-exercise poor food choices, friends, and I’m living proof. (So glad I can be a living weight loss experiment for the rest of you!) HOWEVER, if I look at my stats on Weight Watchers, I should have lost weight this week. I had 22 weekly points remaining at the end of the week, and I earned 21 activity points, so it’s not like I went insanely over my points allowance. Plus, yesterday the scale said 170, so I was really hoping that I’d be a little bit lighter today so I could FINALLY be in the 160s. Alas, it was not to be this week.
Sometimes, the scale doesn’t reflect the effort that was put forth. Sometimes it does. But the fact is, before I weighed myself this morning, I felt good. I was proud of the fact that I’d achieved a new  personal record in running this weekend, and I was proud that I had run 4 miles Tuesday night, something I haven’t done since May. I was proud for choosing not to “eat my feelings” on more than one occasion. So why should stepping on a scale take away that pride and take away what I have accomplished? 
It shouldn’t, so I’m trying my hardest not to let it.
2 thoughts on “Weigh-In Wednesday: Keeping It Real

  1. I honestly really appreciate posts like these. When I have a bad week I tend to beat myself up about it, but things like this help me remember that it's just part of the journey. Overall weight loss is really about sticking it out past the bad weeks and finding a way to keep at it. It helps me to know that I'm not the only one who struggles. Thanks for posting 🙂

    Like

  2. I feel like for me, the scale is a week behind my effort. So, if I did great last week, it will show up this week. Then this week I may slack off a bit and the scale would still be kind. Next week, though, if I kicked back in gear, I would be disappointed because my weight results would reflect this week of slacking. Does that make sense?

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

