Still Sick

I wanted to write a quick update to let you all know what is going on with my health. I found out on Tuesday that I have what’s called C difficile, which is a bacterium that has infected my colon. Most people who get this have spent time in the hospital or been on long courses of antibiotics, neither of which applies to me. Even though I don’t know how I got it, I have it, and I am still not feeling well. This has without a doubt been the worst I have ever felt, even worse than when I had mono. I have some days that are better than others, but most days find me making multiple trips to the bathroom and feeling wiped of energy and appetite. The antibiotics I am on have also made me nauseated, something the anti-nausea medicine I am taking only sometimes helps.

On the bright side, I’ve lost 8 pounds, but I wouldn’t wish this diet on my worst enemy.

I have an appointment with a GI doctor on Wednesday to find out of there is anything else going on to complicate things, and I will keep you all updated. In the meantime, please pray for me, that God would restore my appetite and my strength so I can be a functioning member of society. Pray that I continue to trust in God and not fall prey to self- pity. And pray for my sweet husband and daughter, who are making do without much help from me.

Thank you for reading and for praying.

6 thoughts on “Still Sick

  1. Praying for Stephen and Charlotte – and for YOU! I'm so, so sorry Erin. I can't imagine how stressful this illness must be. Thank you for keeping us updated as you are able…I have been thinking about you so much.

    Like

  2. oh Erin…my mom had this from after a round of antibiotics. she was so desperately ill for such a long time…it was hard to watch her go through that. i am SO SO sorry you've had this! it is truly awful. 😦

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

