Ready, Set, Goals!

Remember when I used to make goals every month and oh, I don’t know, actually attempt to accomplish something? Yeah, I hardly remember it either because it’s been so long since I did that. However, I have decided that this month will be different. I’m tired of going to bed every night and feeling like a failure because I still haven’t _______. The only way to remedy that is to make solid, achievable goals and then work at them. With that said, here are my goals for April:

1. Go to bed by 10 p.m. This is tough for me because I am a night owl by nature, and the late evening hours are one of the few times I can actually have to myself. I have realized, though, that staying up late makes it harder for me to get up in the morning, which means I sleep later than I should and end up feeling frazzled and grumpy and out of sorts because I didn’t start my day with God. Which brings me to my next goal…

2. Read Seeking God’s Face every day. My friend Kim (who also recommended the Scripture memory trick I mentioned Monday-clearly she is my spiritual guru) told me about this book, and it is revolutionizing my Bible study and prayer time. It is essentially a prayer book that is based on the Church calendar, and each day has selected Scripture passages, suggested prayer points, and prayers excerpted from historic Church documents like the Heidelberg and Westminster Catechisms. I like it because it allows me to focus in on a specific passage of Scripture while also meditating on that passage and praying through it. I can’t recommend it enough, so check it out!

3. Exercise 3 times a week. Full disclosure: I am counting as little as 10 minutes as satisfying this goal because I have been so fatigued recently that some days that may be all I can handle. I exercised very sporadically in March, and I do love a good cardio session, so I am hoping I can make this work.

4. No eating after 8 p.m. Let’s face it: nothing healthy gets eaten after 8:00 p.m. And by that point I have already eaten more than enough calories for the day, so there’s no excuse in letting late-night munchies get the best of me. I developed this nighttime habit when I was still taking Prednisone (a steroid that made me feel ravenous), but now that I am off that medication, my hunger has not been nearly as insatiable.

5. Blog 3 times a week. I really enjoy blogging, but you wouldn’t necessarily know that from the scarcity of my posts. It’s a nice hobby for me, and I want to be more consistent, so I am going to aim for 3 times.

Those are my goals for the month. I think they are all measurable and achievable. I wasn’t going to blog about them but then decided that I would appreciate the accountability, so here they are. I will report back at the end of the month, if not weekly, about my progress.

I would encourage you to sit down and think about some measurable goals you can make for yourself this month. If you already have some, share them with me!

One thought on “Ready, Set, Goals!

  1. these are great goals! i'm a big believer in making goals–if nothing else, its good to have something to aim for.

    one of my goals this month has been to go to bed at 9:30 every night. i'm also working through a devotional/writing book “Making Manifest” and also trying to not eat past 7ish, to see if that helps with my night nausea. the only thing i've actually done this past week is “making manifest”–hopefully i can be more faithful to these other two goals the rest of the month.

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

