A Matter of Perspective

Have you all seen the new Dove ad campaign? If not, here’s the video (I highly recommend watching it):

I actually teared up the first time I saw this video. You can see how the faces of the women change as they look at the two portraits side by side. You can see the women realize how their view of themselves is vastly different from that of an outsider. What a powerful example of how distorted our image of ourselves is! I am sure had I been apart of this experiment, I would have described myself in far more negative terms than a stranger would have. I have struggled for years with seeing myself in a negative light, and of course I realize that it has affected how I carry myself and how I interact with others and even how I let others into my world, but this video led me to examine my perspective once again.

As I watched it a second time, I kept thinking about how I want Charlotte to grow up with a healthy body image, how I want her to be carefree and unencumbered by concerns of what others think of her. My daughter is beautiful, and there are few things that light up my soul like seeing her beaming face looking at mine, and I want her to always have that joy. I have no idea how to ensure that those hopes become reality. I can’t pinpoint the exact moment in my own history when I decided I wasn’t pretty, but I pray that that moment never comes for Charlotte.

I know that I am going to pray regularly that God will help me protect the heart of my sweet girl, and I will pray that He will give me the wisdom needed to guide her as she grows older. And I will pray that she knows the truth that she is beautiful and beloved by the King, regardless of what the mirror may tell her.

6 thoughts on “A Matter of Perspective

  1. If there is only one thing I can't teach my daughter it's that she is beautiful and I want her to have high self esteem. I don't know exactly how to do that but I'm going to try. I think it starts with me. If I have high self esteem about myself then she will learn that from me.

    It's also amazing that no matter how I look, if I'm in sweats, my hair is a mess, I have a big zit on my face, my daughter doesn't care. She still loves me. Its amazing that kids don't see those things.

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

