My Third Mother’s Day

This weekend was my third time to celebrate Mother’s Day, and it was a wonderful weekend. We spent Saturday at the zoo, and we couldn’t have asked for more perfect weather. It was Charlotte’s first time at the zoo, and though we got off to a rocky start due to some monkeys scaring her while we were eating lunch, she ended up having a great time! She especially loved watching the sea lions and polar bears and also liked the elephants and hippo. She also got excited every time we saw a bird or a squirrel, even though we have no shortage of those in our own backyard. πŸ™‚ We purchased a family membership, so I foresee many more zoo trips in our future!

This one’s my favorite
Snack time with Pops. Her mouth is full of food, but at least she’s smiling!
This was the best family pic we could get.

Sunday we went to my parents’ church, and Charlotte ended up coming to the service with us. She did NOT want to get dropped off in the nursery, and they were a little unorganized at first, trying to figure out which classroom she would be in, so we just took her with us. She was wriggly and not the quietest, but overall she did pretty well. Stephen did end up taking her out in the hallway near the end of the service, but she did pretty great for a toddler. After church we tried to take pictures, but Charlotte has a personal objection to posed pictures and often makes it difficult to get a good picture of her. We managed to get a few, and though they didn’t turn out perfect, I know when I look at them years later I’ll remember her sassy, spunky personality.

Happy girl. I love love love pigtails.
My mom and me. At least we can take a decent picture. πŸ™‚

I finished off the day with a 2.22 mile run around our neighborhood. It was around dusk, and the temperature had cooled off, and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. I ran last Mother’s Day as well, and I think it’s going to be a new tradition.

I hope all of you who are moms had a wonderful Mother’s Day, or those who aren’t at least were able to celebrate their moms. To those for whom the day is painful, know that I prayed for you as well.

How was your weekend?

2 thoughts on “My Third Mother’s Day

  1. Wow, Erin, you look great! And Charlotte is so, so adorable! Milo hates getting his picture taken as well (and always has to have a pacifier in his mouth for every. single. picture!) so at least Charlotte has given up the paci. πŸ™‚ Looks like y'all had a fun, busy, active weekend!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

