Make It New

Since I decided I was going to be exercising for 30 days in a row, I figured it was a good idea to try some new types of exercise so I wouldn’t end up in a treadmill rut. However, I’m not exactly brave when it comes to the unknown, especially as it relates to anything fitness-related, so I wasn’t sure I would actually try anything new. (I know, I’m so inspirational.)

BUT last night, I went to the gym after church (after 8 p.m.-who am I??), and there was hardly anyone there. I decided it would be the perfect opportunity to test out some new gym equipment. I first warmed up on Old Faithful (aka the treadmill) for 15 minutes then went for the machine that intimidated yet fascinated me the most-the rowing machine. I have wanted to try this machine for a while, but there were usually people either on it or around it, and I wasn’t about to embarrass myself in a gym full of people. Last night, though, the rowing machine and I were going to get acquainted. I told myself I would give it 5 minutes, and while I got off to a rocky start and soon my arms and back were burning, I made it 10 minutes instead!

Image

I have no idea what the numbers after 10:06 mean. Ha!

I have to say, I felt pretty awesome after I finished rowing. 10 minutes isn’t much, but I am going to keep working at it and maybe one day I can do 30 minutes. After that I thought I’d try the stair master, too, and so I did! I only lasted 5 minutes on that, which is kind of pitiful, but I will keep at it.

Image

26 floors. Say what?!

I am really glad I decided to venture outside of my comfort zone. I am going to look around the gym the next time I am there and see what other new things I can try.

Sweaty but happy

Sweaty but happy

If you go to the gym, what’s your favorite exercise equipment? And for anyone, what is something new you’d like to try? Figure out how you can make it happen!

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

