30 Day Streak: Week Two

I may as well call it the “Weak Week Two” because that’s what it was. I stuck to all my goals, but I felt like every day was a struggle. Here’s the breakdown of my exercise:

Monday: 10 minute ab workout on YouTube
Tuesday: 10 minutes of marching in place while watching Parenthood
Wednesday: 20 minutes of “dancing” in my living room
Thursday: 25 minutes of YouTube workouts (Zumba and lower body toning)
Friday: 20 minutes walking around the track at the gym
Saturday: 10 minutes of walking
Sunday: 10 minutes of marching in place along with ab work
Total for Week 2: 105

This total is not even half of what I exercised last week, but honestly, if I hadn’t been working on this 30 day streak, I wouldn’t have exercised at ALL several of those days. But I have identified the problem, and it’s this: I didn’t wake up early to exercise (except for one day), which meant that I was having to exercise in the evenings after Charlotte was in bed (after 8:00 p.m.). I don’t know about you guys, but my energy levels are virtually tapped out by the time 8:00 p.m. rolls around, so it’s no wonder I could only manage to eke out pitiful numbers each day. Today I got up earlier and did a 20 minute Jillian Michaels kickboxing workout, and I felt great and so glad that I had already completed my exercise for the day.

Jillian doesn't mess around, y'all.

Jillian doesn’t mess around, y’all.

I hate getting up early in the mornings because I am not a morning person and probably never will be, but I have seen time and again that it’s the best way for me to make sure I have time to get done the most important things, like exercising or reading the Bible. My goal is to wake up by 6:00 a.m. every day, which isn’t even that early. I may not get in tons more exercise minutes with this plan, but I feel like the quality of my workouts will be much better because I will feel more energetic and will therefore be more compelled to work harder at a workout.

I hope you all have a great week and are working on your goals as well. Now tell me, are you a morning person or a night owl?

One thought on “30 Day Streak: Week Two

  1. Pingback: All Challenged Out | One Honest Mess

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

