All Challenged Out

I’m the lamest blogger ever. How many other bloggers do you know who start a new blog, barely post at all, and then disappear for weeks at a time? And yet I just can’t stay away. Blogging helps me process things, and even if no one is reading, it’s cathartic for me to write.

The last time we met, I was 2 weeks into my 30 day challenge. Well, my 30 day challenge has come and gone, and I was honestly so relieved when it was over. It was harder than I thought it was going to be, and I approached it very halfheartedly some days. I did finish it, sort of. If you’ll recall, I had 3 goals for the duration of the challenge:

1. Exercise a minimum of 10 minutes each day.
2. Drink NO soda.
3. Eat sweets only on the weekends.

I am proud to say that I went the entire 30 days without a drop of soda, but it nearly did me in. Y’all, I am clearly an addict because going without my Coke or Coke Zero fix was HARD.

Me love you long time.

Me love you long time.

At the beginning of the challenge, I didn’t think that goal would be the hardest, but it was definitely the hardest to fight mentally. I found myself wanting to give in on a daily basis.

However, I did really well with the exercise part of my challenge, until day 28, when I realized it was 9 pm and I hadn’t exercised and decided I was too tired to do it, so I didn’t. I fully own the fact that throwing in the towel on DAY TWENTY-EIGHT of a 30 day challenge is the height of lameness, but this is coming from the blogger who never blogs, so it’s kind of apropos, right? 🙂

As for the sweets part of the challenge, I stuck to this, except that I did cave on Valentine’s Day (which was a Friday, so almost the weekend, right?). Stephen and I recreated the meal we had on our first date (pulled pork sandwiches, Harvest Cheddar Sun Chips, grapes, and cheesecake). I could have skipped the cheesecake, but I opted to indulge, and it was tasty. And for the record, that meal also originally included Cherry Coke, my favorite beverage, but I decided to forgo so I could keep my streak alive.

So my 30 day challenge wasn’t a rousing success, but it definitely helped me reestablish the habit of exercising, for which I am grateful. I exercised more in those 30 days than I did over the past several months, and that’s a win for me!

I had lots of other things to say, but this post is already too long, so I guess it will have to wait. See you in 2 weeks. 😉

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

