Ready to Run

So we meet again, blog readers (if I still have any). It’s an unwritten rule that when someone who has spent a lot of time writing about weight loss goes MIA, that means they’ve gained weight. I hate to be the one who reinforces that belief, but alas, it is the case. It’s been a couple of months since I “woke up” about my weight, and yet here I am, not any lighter. If anything, I’m a few pounds heavier, teetering right at the brink of 200 pounds.  I honestly never thought I’d see numbers in the 190s again, and yet I’ve spent a good part of the year there.

However, I’m not going to continue in this way. On Monday, I took a step that I think will help get me back on the path to health. I registered for the St. Jude Half Marathon!

St. Jude

I have been toying with the idea of running another half this year and was originally thinking about doing the The Middle Half in Murfreesboro in October. However, my running has been pretty inconsistent so far this year (with the exception of the last month or so), and I just didn’t feel like I had enough time to train properly for an October race when I haven’t built up my mileage much yet. Then when I saw that registration for the St. Jude half was still open, I was ecstatic and knew that I had to register immediately because the race sells out every year. I am so excited that I was able to register, and I can’t wait to run this race. I’ve heard from multiple people that it’s a really great race, and I love that it benefits St. Jude.

Today is National Running Day, and I had planned to get up and run this morning to celebrate the day. However, Charlotte woke up early this morning, and I decided to take her in the stroller. This meant that I did no running because the jogging stroller and I really aren’t running buddies. I was a little bummed about not running today, even though I realize National Running Day is just a made-up holiday, but around 9 p.m. tonight I decided I could at least get a mile in, and I would try to see how fast I could complete it. I hopped on the treadmill and warmed up at 3.5 mph until I hit 0.2 miles, and then I started to run at 5.0 mph. After 1 minute, I bumped it up to 5.2, then to 5.4 a minute after that. I then realized there would be no way I could maintain that increase every minute, so I then started increasing it by .1 mph every minute. I stopped at 6.0 mph (a 10-minute mile), and then I started going back down my .1 mph. I ended my mile at 5.8 mph and finished my mile in 10:39, which is over a minute faster than any other mile I’ve run this year! I was a hot, sweaty mess at the end of my workout, but I reached my goal!

Happy feet

Happy feet

Photographic proof of my workout

Blurry photographic proof of my workout

I am going to try and blog periodically about my training for the half, so please follow along and definitely let me know if you too will be running the race! And if you’re interested in donating money to St. Jude, you can visit my fundraising page here: http://heroes.stjude.org/erinmount.

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

