Three Weeks Post-Op!

I had grand plans of updating this blog regularly during my recovery, but it turns out recovering from hip surgery is really boring. My days were all very similar and involved difficult decisions such as: Should I start out on the couch or in the bed today? Which TV show should I watch on Netflix first? (Gilmore Girls. Duh.) Which coloring book should I color in today? Is it time for a new ice pack yet? So you can thank me for sparing you the mundane details of my post-op life.

We had a low-key Thanksgiving at our house with Stephen’s parents, since they were in town to help me after my parents left. I have to say, if you’re going to host Thanksgiving at your house, try to get injured beforehand and be rendered completely useless because then everyone else has to do all the work. 🙂

Monday was a big day for me, as I returned to work. I was really nervous about it but felt like I needed to come in, as we were going to be short-staffed that day. It ended up being a challenge, as I am currently still using my crutches, and by the end of the day I was completely exhausted and in pain. On the bright side, I have a renewed appreciation for my legs and how nice it is when they both work properly! I worked a half day on Tuesday, which was much better, and then I was off yesterday so Stephen and I could go for a follow-up with my doctor at Vanderbilt.

The good news is the doctor thinks I’m progressing nicely. He thinks it’s great that I’m off the pain medication and am trying to work. My incisions are healing nicely, and I can be little freer with my movements now. He said I can start increasing the amount of weight I put on my right leg, and then in a week I can ditch the crutches! After I ditch the crutches, then I can drive! This is especially exciting given the fact that we bought a new car the day before Thanksgiving, and I haven’t been able to drive it at all. I think I may need to have some sort of official crutch farewell ceremony. If I wasn’t going to need them again for my left hip, I’d try to do something destructive to them, but I guess that will have to wait. In the meantime, ideas for creative crutch destruction are welcomed!

I’m starting physical therapy on Monday and am anxious to begin the true healing process. I know it’s going to be hard and probably draining, but if I come out of all of this pain-free, it will be more than worth it.

Thank you to all of you who have supported me during this ordeal. I’m so grateful for the people God has placed in my life!

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

