Hello, 2016

Happy New Year to all my readers! I haven’t made goals for the year in a while, but I decided it was time to work on being more disciplined and more focused on things I hope to achieve, so I’m making goals this year. I went back and looked at blog posts from past Januarys to see what kind of goals I made and how many I made each year. The year with the most goals was definitely 2009 with 18 (what was I thinking??). Most of my goals were either related to spiritual or physical pursuits, and I guess this year will be no different. Here’s what I hope to accomplish in 2016:

  1. Write for a minimum of 5 minutes every day. I want to establish a daily writing habit, and while 5 minutes doesn’t seem like much, chances are that once I sit down and do it, I will end up writing longer than that. I love writing and yet haven’t really created anything I’m proud of in a long time, so I hope to change that this year.
  2. Read through the Bible. The last time I did this was in 2012, so it’s time for another attempt. I found it really rewarding and love that following a reading plan will add much-needed structure to my Bible study time.
  3. Finish a 5k. Obviously this won’t happen until after both of my hips are fixed (please Lord, let that become a reality), but I want to take up running again as soon as the doctor clears me to do so. I can’t even tell you how much I miss it. I think running 3.1 miles by the end of the year is doable, even if I have to run that 3.1 on December 31!
  4. Read 25 books. This is still a really modest goal, but I have to be realistic. If my log for 2014 is accurate, I only read 16 books the whole year, so 25 will still be a stretch for me. If I read more than that, wonderful! I’m going to track all of my reads on GoodReads.
  5. Stop drinking soda. If there’s a goal I’m not sure I’ll achieve, it’s this one. I drink soda on an almost-daily basis, and even though it’s mostly Coke Zero, it’s still junk I don’t need in my body (and some would say diet sodas are worse than regular soda). I don’t need soda, and quitting it will be good for my body and my wallet, too. 🙂
  6. Memorize at least 3 Psalms. I fell deeply in love with the Psalms last year, and I want to hide more of them in my heart. I’m planning to start with Psalm 145, my favorite, and then I think I will do Psalms 42 and 103, but I reserve the right to change this at a later date.

I’m looking forward to working on these goals and maybe–hopefully–achieving them. I’d love to hear about your goals as well, so leave me a comment and tell me about them.

IMG_5743

Naturally my first picture of 2016 is of this cutie. 

3 thoughts on “Hello, 2016

  1. Hi, I too have the weight issue. Ironic, with Crohn’s and all that I would need to worry about being over weight. Seems like all I can eat are the “bad for you” foods! Looking forward to following your posts!
    DebraEllen

    Like

  2. Pingback: What I Read in 2016 | One Honest Mess

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

