On the Night Before Kindergarten

Dear Charlotte,

As I write this you are asleep in your bed, hopefully dreaming sweet dreams and anticipating the excitement that awaits you tomorrow, your very first day of kindergarten. In a way it seems impossible that we are already at this huge milestone. Wasn’t it just yesterday that I brought your tiny self home from the hospital and marveled at the beautiful wonder that is you? I am so incredibly excited for you, and I know you are ready for this new adventure. You are so smart and sweet and kind and sensitive and caring, and I know these qualities will serve you so swell as you learn what being in “big school” is all about.

I know you are nervous about not knowing anyone and about making friends, and I want to encourage you to do this one very important thing: be yourself. You put on your best Charlotte smile and offer your best Charlotte hello and give your best Charlotte answers to the questions that are asked of you, and you will be fine. Remember that if you feel lonely and scared, chances are someone else in your class feels lonely and scared too. So when you see another kid in your class who looks like they need a friend, be that friend to them. There may be days when someone is mad at you or tells you they don’t like you, and even though I hope those days don’t come, if they do, remember this: being kind is never the wrong decision. Even if your kindness is met with meanness, be kind anyway.

When you feel afraid, remember the verse from Isaiah and the song we often sing: “Do not fear, for I am with you. Do not be dismayed, for I am God. I will strengthen you and help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Know that even when Mommy and Daddy aren’t with you, there is someone who will ALWAYS be with you: God. He loves you and is cheering for you and will be with you every day of kindergarten, and every day of your life. Let God’s love be bigger than your fear. 

When you feel frustrated because something you are trying to do is hard and you feel like you can’t do it, keep trying. Do not let those moments of frustration prevent you from achieving something great. Some of the best things in life are things that we have to work very hard for or that may not come easily. You will not be perfect, and we don’t expect you to be perfect. We only want you to work hard and do your very best.

Charlotte, your dad and I love you so much more than words can say. We are so proud of you and who you are and cannot wait to see how you continue to grow and learn. We are praying for you to have a wonderful first year of school, and we trust that God will give you all that you need. I have a feeling that it’s going to be an awesome year.

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

